Hobart Hurricanes favourites to enter BBL semi-finals

by admin on January 5, 2012

Hobart Hurricanes favourites to enter BBL semi-finals, take on Heat

The Hobart Hurricanes cricket club in the Big Bash League 2011-12 are currently at the top of the points table with four wins in as many games. As things stand, they look like the only cricket club to be assured of a semi-finals berth while six other sides fight for the remaining three spots in the semi-finals.

It also seems like the Brisbane Heat cricket club have been knocked out of the tournament with their four losses in four games. It remains to be seen which of the remaining, Perth Scorchers (6 points), Adelaide Strikers, Sydney Thunder, Melbourne Renegades, Sydney Sixers (4 points each) or Melbourne Stars (2 points) will make it to the semi-final of the inter-club cricket tournament, the Big Bash League 2011-12.

The next game is between the team placed last, the Heat and the table-toppers, Hobart Hurricanes. A win for the Hurricanes will ensure that whatever little chance that the Brisbane have of qualifying will be out of the window.

The cricket club of Hobart Hurricanes will be led by Xavier Doherty, who is currently having a great time with the ball alongside his teammate and quick bowler, Naved-ul-Hasan Rana. The two have destroyed batting line-ups with a combination of suffocating and attacking lengths and it will be interesting to see how the Heat handle the pair.

Brisbane will sorely miss both their original foreign signings, Daniel Vettori and Brendon McCullum. While Vettori continues to remain injured, McCullum has been away, playing for his domestic team back home in a T20 competition.

This has meant that Heat has had to sign on Roelof van der Merwe, who was caught in a drinking-related incident and had to miss the previous game. The ban was imposed by his cricket club. He should be free to play this game.

On the other hand, Hurricanes will hope for Travis Birt to come good again. He has been their most consistent batsman and second on the list of top run-getters this season.

Leave a Comment

Previous post: